2018 SYC Junior Sailing Dates

  

Kick-off BBQ and Introduction of Instructors          Sunday, June 24, 2018 5pm

First Day of Sailing Program  (Session I)                   Monday, June 25, 2018

No Sailing class on Independence Day                    Wednesday, July 4, 2018

SYC Invitational Regatta (Sunfish/Laser/420)          Thursday, July 12, 2018

SYC Invitational Regatta (Opti)                                Friday, July 13, 2018

Ice Cream Social                                                         Tuesday July 17, 2018   5:30pm

Last Day of Session I                                                 Friday July 20, 2018

SYC Junior Sailing Cocktail Party Fundraiser           Saturday, July 21, 2018

First Day of Session II                                                Monday, July 23, 2018

Junior Dance                                                               Tuesday, July 31, 2018   7pm

“Sail Across the Bay”                                                 Wednesday, August 15, 2018

Awards Ceremony and BBQ                                     Thursday, August 16, 2018 6pm

Last day of classes/pizza party                                   Friday, August 17, 2018   12pm

SYC Junior Sailing

SYC Junior Sailing Program

   

Sailing education and on the water instruction are the centerpieces of the SYC Junior Sailing Program. Significant time is spent on the water in closely supervised activities including fundamental points of sail, practice drills, and sailboat races intended to build confidence and teach safe boat handling. Instruction is provided in basic knots, boat rigging, boat maintenance, right of way rules, sailing skill games, sea weather conditions, and safety/emergency procedures.

The program is designed to be fun as well as educational. Sailing and classroom activities are supplemented by an SYC regatta, regattas with other local area clubs, sailing excursions, movies in the moonlight, and a dance.